EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > Developer Discussion > XML Modification Help & Info

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 10-25-2004, 10:45 AM
insomniac's Avatar
insomniac insomniac is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Server: Blackburrow
Posts: 555
Cool How to make your own window.



OK.. so basically, i pasted code for a window into an xml that wasn't drawing a window. I'm not exactly sure what files you can and can't do this to (tho i'm pretty sure 1 file can only draw 1 window)
how to make your own:

grab a file, (like eq2ui_mouseovericons.xml)

move whatever code is inside down a few lines. and paste some window code:
Code:
<Page ActionType="Experience" BackgroundColor="#00FF00" Location="396,658" Name="Experience" PackLocation="center,bottom" PackLocationProp="-116/0001,-110/0001" ScrollExtent="264,100" Size="264,100" UserMovable="true" eq2usescomwndcontrols="true">

<!-- some text -->
<Text DynamicData="" Font="/Fonts.FontArial14" LocalText="10000/10000" Location="5,5" Margin="0,0,5,0" Name="HitPointsValue" ScrollExtent="254,90" Size="254,90" TextAlignmentVertical="Center">Insomniac is awesome.</Text>
<!-- end of text -->

<Page AbsorbsInput="false" BackgroundOpacity="1.000" Location="0,3" Name="WC_Frame" PackLocation="top,left" PackLocationProp="0000/0001,0003/0001" RStyleDefault="/FrameStyles.single_pixel" ScrollExtent="263,97" Size="263,97"></Page>
<Page AbsorbsInput="false" BackgroundOpacity="1.000" Location="1,4" Name="WC_Backdrop" PackLocation="top,left" PackLocationProp="0001/0001,0004/0001" ScrollExtent="262,95" Size="262,95"></Page></Page>
If you copy the code from another window, (the above is the top and bottom of the experience window) the bottom code will end with </page></page> you need to move the second </page> to the very bottom of the file.

now hit save.

window injected.

one more thing. using eq2ui_mouseovericons.xml has a lovely little side effect. the above screenshot is from the in game login screen. this file loads whatever is in it the second everquest2.exe loads up. So now you can tweak spacing ect. without having to log in. (dynamicdata wont work until you're in the world tho.) Isn't this soo much better than eq1?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	customwindow.gif
Views:	2833
Size:	8.4 KB
ID:	82  
__________________
Shizlak Xml - Templar/Provisioner
Blackburrow
Join Chat! irc: #EQ2Interface (dalnet) Ingame: /join eq.serverwide.eq2ui


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 10-25-2004, 10:55 AM
insomniac's Avatar
insomniac insomniac is offline
A Griffon
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Server: Blackburrow
Posts: 555
Default replying to my own post because Esp. is killing me right now =)

it will be interesting to discover the little quirks of different files. mouseover loads at the login screen, is useable while zoning, stays on top of every other window,doesn't have a right click window settings (which means opacity must be set manually) and can't be closed.
__________________
Shizlak Xml - Templar/Provisioner
Blackburrow
Join Chat! irc: #EQ2Interface (dalnet) Ingame: /join eq.serverwide.eq2ui


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 12-22-2004, 06:51 AM
tonyis3l33t's Avatar
tonyis3l33t tonyis3l33t is offline
a hedgehog
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Nagafen
Posts: 854
Default

So it sounds like you might be able to allow chat boxes while zoning with this....ill have to look deeper myself thanks for this info!

Tony
________
black girl Webcam

Last edited by tonyis3l33t : 09-16-2011 at 03:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 12-22-2004, 10:26 AM
Euda's Avatar
Euda Euda is offline
A Griffawn
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Najena
Posts: 74
Default

Can you zip the xml file used for that pic? I learn best from examples lol
__________________
Howto: Install an Interface
01000101010100010011001000100000011011010110000101110000011100110010000001100110
01101111011100100010000001110100011001010110100000100000011101110110100101101110

Euda
Long retired enchanter of Luclin.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 12-23-2004, 12:27 AM
Eloa Eloa is offline
EQ2MAP Webmaster
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Server: Unkown
Posts: 496
Default ad

Quote:
tonyis3l33t So it sounds like you might be able to allow chat boxes while zoning with this....
I doubt it. What it sounds like he is saying is the same thing that I got when I messed up my journal while editing it. Which is making an non visible window (maybe only specific ones) visible, and then starting everquest.

He didnt give details on the bad side effects or even if he played a while or anything but I accidentally had the main Journal page marked as viewable in uibuilder. So when I loaded eq I had the full UIbuilder view ([DEVl] this and that, everything just like builder window) of the journal window from the moment it started, through zone, char login and all. When I got in game I realized the same, you can not close the window, right click just drag it around. So what the heck, I couldnt close it so I hit 'J' to close it for me and my real journal window popped up with all information in it, but I could do NOTHING with any of the other UI except use hotkeys and enter to work with it...which is hard. I ended up having to /loadui and figure out how to keyboard to the default just to get out of game.

So yes, I believe thats what he experienced and if it is, unless you can figure this one out, I doubt you can use it for chat windows.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 12-23-2004, 03:44 AM
NetSapiens NetSapiens is offline
A Darkpaw Brute
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 42
Default

You're correct Eloa.

All you do is graphically show windows.
Certain windows (inventory, chat, mainhud) have functionality coded in them which is not accessible to us.

For instance, you can't /show_window inventory.inventory to get your inventory to display.. it will instead display THE inventory window, meaning the window that is used as the defining window / placeholder for the data.

Try it, and you'll see what I mean.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | WoWInterface | LoTROInterface | ESOUI | MMOUI