EQ2Interface.com
Search Downloads


Go Back   EQ2Interface > Developer Discussion > XML Modification Help & Info

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 02-24-2005, 11:20 AM
Kaldor Kaldor is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Server: Permafrost
Posts: 5
Default Reading external data files

I was wondering if there is a way to read external files into a window mod or something along that line. I know there is an html window that can read web things, I actually have some data on a web page that I have formatted to read in game and look alright.

The question is can I save the data in my database to xml type format and read it into a new modded window? Also, can a window dump its contents out to an xml/text file at all?

I know the map mod does something like this and can read the external map files and load them into game, I guess I would like to know if a text type file can be read into game.

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 02-24-2005, 01:04 PM
Quib Quib is offline
A Griffon
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Well, yes and no. Let me elaborate.

You could make the XML of a window <include> any text or XML file you want, but unless the text inside the file was in EQ2's exact XML format, it'd do nothing.

In other words, your database would have to allow you to save the data not only as XML, but in a very precise form to be usable by EQ2.

And no, no window can dump its contents to a file.

Quib
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 02-24-2005, 02:21 PM
Kaldor Kaldor is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Server: Permafrost
Posts: 5
Default

Ok. I have looked at the map mod a little bit to see how it works. Let's say I have data that has all of the guards names and their city. Can you give me an idea on what kind of xml tag set this would need to go into, or point me in that direction.

So list like: Guard A, Nettleville Guard B, Starcrest. Data would pop in a window like

-----------------------
- Guard A Nettleville -
- Guard B Starcrest -
-----------------------

Is this possible to do?

Next, since file dump is not possible, is there any way to pass information to html post? Probably not, but just want to cover that base.

For some background on what I am trying: Basically I have a database right now with information and a web page set to read the information and have search strings etc. I am using the HTML viewer to read the page, and I can pass my search variables into it though the URL and it works in game.

I'd like to get out of the HTML window and create a custom window that would pull up the data and show it, and hopefully allow it to be searchable. Any thoughts on this? Again, I know that the map is able to filter out what shows up and what doesn't, is this portable to text only data?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 02-24-2005, 03:25 PM
Quib Quib is offline
A Griffon
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaldor
Can you give me an idea on what kind of xml tag set this would need to go into, or point me in that direction.
Well, you'd want to encapsulate it all in a Page object, then probably use Text objects to display the strings. A scrollbar would allow you to make this data scrolling, so you wouldn't need a very tall area for a long list. I have no idea how you'd make your database export in this format.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaldor
Next, since file dump is not possible, is there any way to pass information to html post? Probably not, but just want to cover that base.
I'm not sure what "html post" is. There's no known way (and likely no unknown way either) to push data elsewhere in the UI or outside of EQ2. You can copy a string or number from one place to another, but that's about it. A button press, OnHoverIn event, etc. can pull data from somewhere, and do some basic manipulation, but not really in any way that'd be useful to you. And all the XML would be loaded at startup (or EQ2) so pulling data from a dynamically changing file wouldn't work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaldor
For some background on what I am trying: Basically I have a database right now with information and a web page set to read the information and have search strings etc. I am using the HTML viewer to read the page, and I can pass my search variables into it though the URL and it works in game.
As far as grabbing data dynamically, this is the only way to do it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaldor
I'd like to get out of the HTML window and create a custom window that would pull up the data and show it, and hopefully allow it to be searchable. Any thoughts on this?
The HTML window is the only way to pull up dynamic data (not EQ2 dynamic data, I just mean outside data that changes).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaldor
Again, I know that the map is able to filter out what shows up and what doesn't, is this portable to text only data?
The map window doesn't filter out anything (we'll be adding complicated buttons to show/hide certain icons eventually, but the data will still be there). Any showing of maps/icons is just using the hardcoded mapping system to display data.

I'm sure I didn't actually answer all your questions, so reask stuff if you want it clarified or if I was confusing. Also, someone correct me if I'm wrong about any of that.

Quib
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 02-24-2005, 04:15 PM
Kaldor Kaldor is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Server: Permafrost
Posts: 5
Default

let's see then. Sounds like I may be able to read into game an XML file with the data. I can always create the file and save it outside of the database, so that's not a problem.

By html post I mean host headers, like if I have a field in a window that is a search and I enter "Bill", can I pass that to my page as the variable the page requires for the search. Replacing the variable with the search string. Like http://foo.bar/search?guardname=Bill

So, for example in a new window, I enter Bill and press Go in game, it pulls up the HTML window with all of my results based on that Bill variable. Possible?

Or is the xml filterable at all, so let's say I have a dropdown that has Nettleville and press go, can I get just the guards in Nettleville.

Sorry for all the strange questions, I just want to see if there is any way to do what I want outside of the HTML window since links aren't supported there.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 02-24-2005, 05:02 PM
Quib Quib is offline
A Griffon
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 720
Default

Quote:
By html post I mean host headers
I see now. No, there's no way to concatenate strings in EQ2 XML.

Quote:
Or is the xml filterable at all, so let's say I have a dropdown that has Nettleville and press go, can I get just the guards in Nettleville.
XML isn't filterable based on something you type in. You can make a button with hardcoded calls to make certain things visible/non-visible, but any in-game typed filtering is hardcoded (like the market window, or tradeskill recipe window).

Quote:
I can always create the file and save it outside of the database, so that's not a problem.
Outside of the HTML window, this is your best bet to get data in game.

Quib

Last edited by Quib : 02-24-2005 at 05:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 02-24-2005, 05:10 PM
Kaldor Kaldor is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Server: Permafrost
Posts: 5
Default

ok, I'll have to give it a shot and see what I come up with. I can always separate the data into several different xml files by city or category. The keyword searching would be awefully nice to be able to do, any idea if the devs are going to allow string passing or modify the html page at all?

I suspect the html page will stay low on the priority list, but it would sure be nice to have it accept 4.0 at least. I have tried out a few variants but not able to get more than the basics and a few tags to actually work. Somewhat frustrating since <h1>, <img>, <font> and <p> tags work but <a> and others don't.

I'll post an update if I come up with anything, or if anyone has any other thoughts that would be great. Thanks Q
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 02-25-2005, 09:56 AM
Kaldor Kaldor is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Server: Permafrost
Posts: 5
Default

well, I tried to do a setup last night using the merchant window as it has something that is listed already. I wasn't able to get anything I added extra to show up, even just a simple text thing. On top of that, when I loaded the modified window in game everything was blank, no images, nothing. Which was odd since it was a copy of the merchant window.

I tried putting the data in a datasource and had text items, is that the way to go? The map has a couple of pages with text items for the city names, my best guess at this point is that I would need to put all of my data into a new table on a page. When I tried that, I just got a big pink window and couldn't get that to work either.

Are there any tutorials or helpful posts on how to create a new window and place stuff? I already have the one that is stickied. All I need to do to get going is have a window and be able to put anything into it. Any help with that would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 01-17-2006, 05:33 PM
Xanafrim Xanafrim is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 2
Default

Here is a thought... I have seen UI's that allow browsing web pages, if a person were to create a website on thier local machine, then point your ingame web browser to go to that site, the site could contain input boxes and since it is html through the game it might work, what do you all think?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 01-17-2006, 05:45 PM
Deathbane27's Avatar
Deathbane27 Deathbane27 is offline
aka Mook
This person is a EQ2Map developer.
Interface Author - Click to view interfaces
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Server: Nektulos
Posts: 1,451
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xanafrim
Here is a thought... I have seen UI's that allow browsing web pages, if a person were to create a website on thier local machine, then point your ingame web browser to go to that site, the site could contain input boxes and since it is html through the game it might work, what do you all think?
Nope, the input boxes don't work in the built-in web browser.
__________________
If it ain't broke, it needs more features!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Unread 01-18-2006, 09:17 AM
Erahain Erahain is offline
A Crazed Gnoll
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 23
Default

What exactly are you trying to do?

If you want to be able to read information dynamically through external sources, you can always create a custom HTML window.

You CAN concatenate to create a simple GET header; but keep in mind
that your search string can't contain spaces as there is no way to
search-replace to get rid of bad URL characters.

Even though the HTML browser doesnt support textboxes; you can still
create a search-textbox as a widget in your ui mod =)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Unread 01-26-2006, 02:50 AM
Xanafrim Xanafrim is offline
A Young Mystail Rat
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Server: Antonia Bayle
Posts: 2
Default

Basically 1 of the things that frustrates me about the ui is the apparent inability to have a working notepad in-game. I realize I could window out and just use notepad but I was just hoping that the ingame web browser might offer a work around. Is there really no way of storing notes while in game without windowing out?
Reply With Quote
Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Our Network
EQInterface | EQ2Interface | WoWInterface | LoTROInterface | ESOUI | MMOUI