EQ2Interface

EQ2Interface (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/index.php)
-   XML Modification Help & Info (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Every DynamicData revealed! (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=97)

insomniac 10-17-2004 10:03 PM

Every DynamicData revealed!
 
Let me bring you up to speed: DynamicData of EQ2 = EQType of EQ1.
The in-game variables for your current health and stuff.

In the default directory there's a file called "eq2ui_gamedata.xml" which, if you know how to read it, has (probably) every dynamicdata listed. How handy.

First, a lesson, here's your typical EQ2 label:
Quote:

<Text DynamicData="/GameData.Self.ExperienceCurrent "Font="/Fonts.FontZapf15" LocalText="10000/10000" Location="20,16" Margin="0,0,5,0" Name="HitPointsValue" ScrollExtent="80,20" Size="80,20" TextAlignmentVertical="Center">10000/10000</Text>
Translation: This will display your current experience, in some goofy font, ignore the localtext part, at 20 pixels right and 16 pixels down from the top left corner of the window, sized 80 pixels wide and 20 pixels tall. Where Gamedata.xml helps out is the <Text DynamicData="/GameData.Self.ExperienceCurrent" part. Notice the dynamicdata value is in 3 parts, GameData, Self, and ExperienceCurrent. Now take a look at an excerpt from the eq2ui_gamedata.xml file, pay attention to the red parts, and don’t get scared:

Quote:

<DataSource description="Data about the current player" Name="Self">
<DynamicData description="Name of the current player: Text, Color" Name="Name"/>
<DynamicData description="Amount of breath remaining: Progress, Text" Name="Breath"/>
<DynamicData description="Maximum underwater breath in seconds: Text" Name="BreathMax"/>
<DynamicData description="True if combat experience is disabled" Name="CombatExperienceDisabled"/>
<DynamicData ActionType="Experience" Name="ExperienceBubble"/>
<DynamicData ActionType="Experience" Name="ExperienceCurrent"/>
<DynamicData ActionType="Experience" Name="ExperienceDebtCurrent"/>
<DynamicData Name="Race"/>
<DynamicData Name="Gender"/>
<DynamicData Name="RaceGender"/>
<DynamicData Name="Level"/>
<DynamicData Name="LevelClass"/>
<DynamicData Name="Archetype"/>
<DynamicData Name="Class"/>
<DynamicData Name="SubClass"/>
<DynamicData description="True if user is autoattacking" Name="AutoAttack"/>
<DynamicData description="True if user is ranged autoattacking" Name="RangedAutoAttack"/>
<DynamicData ActionType="Concentration" Description="Concentration being maintained" Name="Concentration_1"/>
<DynamicData ActionType="Concentration" Description="Concentration being maintained" Name="Concentration_2"/>
<DynamicData ActionType="Concentration" Description="Concentration being maintained" Name="Concentration_3"/>
<DynamicData ActionType="Concentration" Description="Concentration being maintained" Name="Concentration_4"/>
<DynamicData ActionType="Concentration" Description="Concentration being maintained" Name="Concentration_5"/>
<DynamicData description="Health of the current player" Name="Health"/>
<DynamicData description="Location of the current player: Text" Name="Location"/>
<DynamicData description="Power of the current player" Name="Power"/>
<DynamicData description="Spirit Rank Achieved" Name="SpiritProgress"/>
<DynamicData description="Spirit Rank Achieved" Name="SpiritRank_1"/>
<DynamicData description="Spirit Rank Achieved" Name="SpiritRank_2"/>
<DynamicData description="Spirit Rank Achieved" Name="SpiritRank_3"/>
<DynamicData description="Spirit Rank Achieved" Name="SpiritRank_4"/>
<DynamicData description="Spirit Rank Achieved" Name="SpiritRank_5"/>
<DynamicData description="Spirit Available" Name="Spirit_1"/>
<DynamicData description="Spirit Available" Name="Spirit_2"/>
<DynamicData description="Spirit Available" Name="Spirit_3"/>
<DynamicData description="Spirit Available" Name="Spirit_4"/>
<DynamicData description="Spirit Available" Name="Spirit_5"/>
<DynamicData Name="TradeskillLevel"/>
<DynamicData Name="TradeskillLevelClass"/>
<DynamicData Name="TradeskillArchetype"/>
<DynamicData Name="TradeskillClass"/>
<DynamicData Name="TradeskillSubClass"/>
<DynamicData Name="TradeskillExperienceCurrent"/>
<DynamicData ActionType="Experience" Name="TSExperienceDebtCurrent"/>
<DynamicData Name="TradeskillExperienceBubble"/>
<DynamicData description="Name of the current zone" Name="ZoneName"/>
<DynamicData Name="Weight"/>
</DataSource>
now lets make the experience dynamicdata value, using this list.
the file is Gamedata so you have to start with that:
Code:

DynamicData="/Gamedata"
next you have to list what DataSource ExperienceCurrent is under so look for the DataSource tag. Its name = "self" sooo:
Code:

DynamicData="/Gamedata.self"
All that’s left is the ExperienceCurrent part
Code:

DynamicData="/Gamedata.Self.ExperienceCurrent"
so basically Gamedata.[Datasource].[DynamicData] will let you display every value in the game, and its all in this handy file. Any Questions?

Dr_dre 10-19-2004 08:39 AM

sure i have :P



Does the gamedata include the xP per mob u earn. and thus create me numbers instead of stupid % based we get to see now ?

So it will be eassier for me see what mob will give me more xp. :P


Cheers

Dr_dre

insomniac 10-19-2004 09:27 AM

nope, percentage only. that'd be nice tho.

Esperant 10-19-2004 11:21 AM

great heads up post. Thanks!

Fayed 11-15-2004 11:16 AM

OMG!!!

I thik i get it!!!!!

Android8675 11-15-2004 01:45 PM

Silly post, don't take seriously, just monday morning rambling.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dr_dre
Does the gamedata include the xP per mob u earn. and thus create me numbers instead of stupid % based we get to see now ?

Verant/SoE learned that lesson a long time ago... Don't share too much data.

back in the day, the gods created EverQuest, and it was good.
(I'm not really biblical so excuse me if a paraphrase)
...and on the seventh day, the gods rested.

It was on this day that the "demi-gods" (the open source community) created ShowEQ, and it was 'l33t' good, but not good in the way that the gods wanted. So the gods retalliated on the demi-gods closing the gates of paradise and there was much sadness for many days (Verant encrypted their data stream so ShowEQ stopped working).

The demi-gods in secrecy came up with a plan to tunnel under the great wall around paradise, once more getting a taste of the glory of whatever it was that god didn't want them to see. (fixed ShowEQ)

The gods realizing they could not truely defeat the demi gods came up with a plan to keep the demi's at bay, sort of a stalemate if you will. The gods let the demi-gods view paradise, but they made all the apples unobtainable, but left the apples there for the demi-gods to drool over just out of reach. So while the demi's had their reign in the garden, they were never truely raised to the level of the gods.
:confused:

In other words, EQ used to send exact numbers like exp gained, and lost. ShowEQ exploited those numbers and made it easy to figure out how long it would take you to level, Verant tried to stop that, but could not (ShowEQ broke the code). So Sony said, well then we'll just stop sending the exact numbers instead we'll just send a percentage so that the client will look the same, but ShowEQ won't display those exact numbers. Because what the server doesn't send to the client can't be exploited. (like loot, there's no way to peek at a mob and see what drops he/she/it has on him/her/it, becuase that data is never sent until you loot something)

So blame ShowEQ for not being able to see exact numbers. :p (oh and ruining PvP, but that's another topic)

Alluvian 11-15-2004 05:28 PM

Looking at that file, things seem to be missing. I see all the names for the maintained spells, but where are the names for the buffs/debuffs?

insomniac 11-16-2004 12:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alluvian
Looking at that file, things seem to be missing. I see all the names for the maintained spells, but where are the names for the buffs/debuffs?

that would be the definition of hardcoded.

Alluvian 11-16-2004 12:43 AM

Sorry, just trying to learn. I thought learning this stuff was the point of this site.

insomniac 11-16-2004 03:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alluvian
Sorry, just trying to learn. I thought learning this stuff was the point of this site.

sorry, i wasn't trying to be mean or anything, you hit the nail on the head, alot of stuff is missing from that file, and that sucks. :) i prolly should have made that post flooded with smilieys like i do to every other one, stuff in text is misunderstood too easily. it should be more like " that would be the definition of hardcoded. :p"

Brikk 11-16-2004 07:16 AM

XP per mob
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dr_dre
sure i have :P



Does the gamedata include the xP per mob u earn. and thus create me numbers instead of stupid % based we get to see now ?

So it will be eassier for me see what mob will give me more xp. :P


Cheers

Dr_dre

In beta there was a very short period I remember between patches that while on the isle of refuge and killing goblin invaders the UI was giving you "You gain XX experience points" or a phrase very close to that. I also remember the next hotfix it no longer showed that, for obvoius reasons. But, I do know that goblin invaders were giving 26 experience points :D

Reflection Rip 01-20-2005 10:46 PM

I'm still a little confused.

I want to make a mod that shows inventory items in a different window. But there is only one inventory Dynamic Data:
/GameData.Items.Inventory

So now how do I tell my button to look at a certain inventory slot?

Weegie 03-02-2005 04:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Reflection Rip
I'm still a little confused.

I want to make a mod that shows inventory items in a different window. But there is only one inventory Dynamic Data:
/GameData.Items.Inventory

So now how do I tell my button to look at a certain inventory slot?

Good question. I tried to throw my inventory slots into my bank window for simplicity but ran into same problem. I think it may be derived from the actual name....
Code:

<Icon BackgroundTint="#000000" DynamicData="/GameData.Items.Inventory" IconStyle="/IconStyles.inventory" Location="149,119" MouseOverColor="#FFFF00" Name="InvSlot3" ScrollExtent="42,42" Size="42,42" TreatAsButton="true"/>
I'm still not clear on it exactly. I'm of the same thought that all data was supposedly designed to be used in any window. But if the nameing convention holds true, then its not really the case. This is a question for one of the pros that hang around here tho.

Azoz 03-08-2005 01:05 AM

Another place to find dynamic data
 
In uibuilder go to root, second item down is GameData. Expand that folder and there you go. Every data object is expandable to show its bits and pieces.

hirebrand 04-08-2005 06:26 PM

You can have the object ignore parts of the DynamicData by using DynamicDataFilter.

Value Description
0x0000 None
0x0001 Visible/Not visible
0x0002 Text
0x0004 Tooltip
0x0008 Boolean value
0x0010 Floating point value
0x0020 Long value
0x0040 Progress percent
0x0080 Icon
0x0100 Command
0x0200 Enabled/Disabled
0x0400 Color
0x0800 Opacity
0x1000 Event Trigger
0xFFFF All

Choose the bits of data you need and add them together, (or subtract them from FFFF if you want everything except a certain thing) to get the DynamicDataFilter (use window's Calculator set on hexadecimal mode)

Example
0001 Visible
0002 Text
0004 Tooltip
0400 Color
0800 Opacity
0C07 Sum

Example 2
FFFF Everything
0004 Don't Want Tooltips
FFFB Result

koggler 07-20-2005 09:37 AM

Somehow I can't get /gamedata.Stats.Defense to work.
I want to use it in a Statbar

Landiin 07-20-2005 09:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by koggler
Somehow I can't get /gamedata.Stats.Defense to work.
I want to use it in a Statbar

I don't think defense returns any thing any longer, you have to use
/gamedata.Stats.Defense_mitigation
/gamedata.Stats.Defense_MitigationPercnet
/gamedata.Stats.Defense_Avoidance,base,block,deflection and parry

koggler 07-25-2005 07:39 AM

I wanted to use the Defense Stat, as it is used in the Skills Window. It would be handy to see if all the Defense Buffs, not the mitigation buffs, are up.

and is there a way to modify maintained spells window to show more than 30 icons?

Landiin 07-25-2005 10:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by koggler
I wanted to use the Defense Stat, as it is used in the Skills Window. It would be handy to see if all the Defense Buffs, not the mitigation buffs, are up.

and is there a way to modify maintained spells window to show more than 30 icons?

Defense is basicly out the window, its been devided into mitigation and avoidance. Looking at the hard number will really not tell you any thing. I look at the % mitigation and % avoidnace. Thus is why there the only two on my UI. They higher the % the more I mtigate or avoid. You can tell when you are missing buffs by the how high your % is. Kind of like when there isn't a bard in the group avoidance % is way down from when there is one.

But if you just had to have a hard number You could add up all the defense's and display the sum.

I think 30 is the limit. You need more? I didn't know any class even had 30 maint spells to even fill the current window up must less need more.

fingolfin 07-25-2005 10:37 AM

Seeing the actual defense skill would be helpful for the times you max out at 100% avoidance. Assuming no mob buffs, It takes a 290 defense skill to have a 100% avoidance on a lev 50 opponent. A 295 will give you 100% avoidance on a lev 51 opponent. 300 will be 100% on lev 52, and so on and so on. In all cases you display 100% avoidance though your defense number is higher and you are actually better. This scenerio happens on almost any raid with certain group setups. The other option would be to display more than 100% avoidance if possible. I think the tooltip actually displays it if you hover your mouse over it.

More than 30 spell icons would be great for raids too. You easilly exceed 30 in some groups fully buffed on raids. Sometimes if you need to cancel the buff that roots you if its off screen you end up canceling a few to find it. Its really a pain and my biggest grip with the UI.

Im not a developer though so cant help you :)

Faetyl 07-25-2005 10:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by koggler
I wanted to use the Defense Stat, as it is used in the Skills Window. It would be handy to see if all the Defense Buffs, not the mitigation buffs, are up.

and is there a way to modify maintained spells window to show more than 30 icons?

If you're working on developing this as an author you could disect others work such as mine "ThorUI"
I added both Mitigation Value and Mitigation Percentage
Also if you're interested in buff statistics, check out the "Character" window in my mod by clicking the clock. "Hidden window currently"

As for the spell buff icons max of 30, I believe this number is set by Sony.
They would need to allow the values for more spell buffs.
For example, we could add the icons/values but until they make use of it by sending the data, it won't work.

Landiin 07-25-2005 11:53 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fingolfin
Seeing the actual defense skill would be helpful for the times you max out at 100% avoidance. Assuming no mob buffs, It takes a 290 defense skill to have a 100% avoidance on a lev 50 opponent. A 295 will give you 100% avoidance on a lev 51 opponent. 300 will be 100% on lev 52, and so on and so on. In all cases you display 100% avoidance though your defense number is higher and you are actually better. This scenerio happens on almost any raid with certain group setups. The other option would be to display more than 100% avoidance if possible. I think the tooltip actually displays it if you hover your mouse over it.

More than 30 spell icons would be great for raids too. You easilly exceed 30 in some groups fully buffed on raids. Sometimes if you need to cancel the buff that roots you if its off screen you end up canceling a few to find it. Its really a pain and my biggest grip with the UI.

Im not a developer though so cant help you :)

Oh ok I see what you are wanting to see now. Hmm Just got an idea for my target window now:)

The effects I can see being pushed over 30, but I think 30 is max buffs u can have on you at any one point. As far as the maint window goes witch only showes what buffs/debuffs you have cast, again I havn't seen a class with 30+ utillities spells that lights an icon in the maint window. Even if say u cast crack on every group member thats only 24 icons if it shows one for each person, leaving 6 others witch is around the norm for buff for each class, give or take a couple.

fingolfin 07-25-2005 12:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Landiin

The effects I can see being pushed over 30, but I think 30 is max buffs u can have on you at any one point...

You can have more than 30 on you, its just not displaying anything over 30. I would think the data is being sent as well since you can see the stat changes and side effects even if you cant see the icon.

As a warden I cast duststorm right before a pull on a raid. Its always the last buff to show on the effects window and will be off screen if I have 30 other effects on me which is normal. I know its active since I am rooted inplace and I can see it on the maintained window. I cancel other effects on me one by one until I can see it and cancel it.

35-40 effects is quite possible in a maintank group raid setup.

It might not be something that can be worked around, but gosh is it annoying :)

koggler 07-27-2005 10:41 AM

So SOE has to change the 30icons limit.

But what about getting the Defense Stat info. Is there a way or is it just still bugged. it should be the /gamedata.Stats.Defense command.

dc_roenfanz 07-27-2005 03:39 PM

defence has been changed to mitigation and avoidance, so its *something like* defence_mitigation and defence_avoidance. There is no longer any plain "defence"


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.

vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© MMOUI