EQ2Interface

EQ2Interface (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/index.php)
-   XML Modification Help & Info (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   How to create a reuse timer overlay for the hotbars? (https://www.eq2interface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10464)

dragowulf 02-27-2008 02:54 AM

How to create a reuse timer overlay for the hotbars?
 
Well. It is indeed for your hotbar spells....my question is....how would we use it?

dragowulf 02-27-2008 12:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gm9 (Post 69935)
Looks indeed like a copy'n'paste accident on the description. As much as I would have liked group DD to be fixed. ;)

Drago, to quote Rothgar:

In other words, you can put countdowns on top of the icons.

I tried putting them on the icons iconbank and no luck

gm9 02-27-2008 12:42 PM

I haven't tried this yet, but as I posted elsewhere my understanding was you would need to add an overlay (such as a <Volume>) to the hotbutton file with text objects that receive the DD and are positioned over the buttons.

dragowulf 02-27-2008 01:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gm9 (Post 69963)
I haven't tried this yet, but as I posted elsewhere my understanding was you would need to add an overlay (such as a <Volume>) to the hotbutton file with text objects that receive the DD and are positioned over the buttons.

I'll send you my file if you want. I tried this and for the most part it worked beautifully......but...the volume cellsize/cellpadding wont resize with the iconsize/iconpadding. If you could figure this out then I would be able to do the rest.

Iconsize/Iconpadding in the Icon's iconbank only goes by 1 integer, so if I were to try OnHoverIn='CellSize=Parent.Icons.IconSize' it wouldnt work because the cellsize takes x,y and not x

gm9 02-27-2008 01:44 PM

Just assign CellSize=Parent.Icons.IconSize ## ',' ## Parent.Icons.IconSize

dragowulf 02-27-2008 01:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gm9 (Post 69971)
Just assign CellSize=Parent.Icons.IconSize ## ',' ## Parent.Icons.IconSize

I'll do that and send you the file to show you when I'm done for future reference.

dragowulf 02-27-2008 01:48 PM

Does OnChange work for IconBank?????

gm9 02-27-2008 02:03 PM

Not that I know of, but you can try. The only thing I can think of without checking that has OnChange is a sliderbar. I'd say OnPress and OnHoverIn will be your friends.

dragowulf 02-27-2008 02:19 PM

This is my code for the Hotkey page:

Volume.CellSize=IconPage.Icons.IconSize ## ',' ## IconPage.Icons.IconSize Volume.CellPadding=IconPage.Icons.IconPadding ## ',' ## IconPage.Icons.IconPadding

I have it on OnHoverIn for testing right now. CellSize works well, but when I do IconPadding it totally screws it up. I'm testing with my Hotkey window (Which came from yours). The default iconsize is 32 and padding is 0. I can move the size to anything and the volume will go along with it, but once i change padding from 0 it doesn't seem to resize correctly.

dragowulf 02-27-2008 02:31 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Heres my file so you don't have to completely do it yourself. As you would be able to see, the CellSize/IconSize works well...but the CellPadding/IconPadding doesn't seem like it will be able to work unless it is 0

gm9 02-27-2008 02:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dragowulf (Post 69978)
This is my code for the Hotkey page:

Volume.CellSize=IconPage.Icons.IconSize ## ',' ## IconPage.Icons.IconSize Volume.CellPadding=IconPage.Icons.IconPadding ## ',' ## IconPage.Icons.IconPadding

I have it on OnHoverIn for testing right now. CellSize works well, but when I do IconPadding it totally screws it up. I'm testing with my Hotkey window (Which came from yours). The default iconsize is 32 and padding is 0. I can move the size to anything and the volume will go along with it, but once i change padding from 0 it doesn't seem to resize correctly.

Doesn't work because it does not know where one command begins and another ends. Instead you can do either
Volume.CellSize=IconPage.Icons.IconSize ## ',' ## IconPage.Icons.IconSize
Volume.CellPadding=IconPage.Icons.IconPadding ## ',' ## IconPage.Icons.IconPadding

or
Volume.CellSize=(IconPage.Icons.IconSize)##(',')##(IconPage.Icons.IconSize) Volume.CellPadding=(IconPage.Icons.IconPadding)##(',')##(IconPage.Icons.IconPadd ing)

or (I think)
Volume.CellSize=(IconPage.Icons.IconSize ## ',' ## IconPage.Icons.IconSize) Volume.CellPadding=(IconPage.Icons.IconPadding ## ',' ## IconPage.Icons.IconPadding)
PS: Let me know if you want me to move our discussion in a separate thread, not sure if we are bordering on off topic here...

dragowulf 02-27-2008 02:42 PM

You should move it

dragowulf 02-27-2008 02:54 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I did:

Volume.CellSize=IconPage.Icons.IconSize ## ',' ## IconPage.Icons.IconSize
Volume.CellPadding=IconPage.Icons.IconPadding ## ',' ## IconPage.Icons.IconPadding

It was unnecessary anyways because what I had before worked just fine. And it knew (somehow) where the command began and ended.

When you have free time you should check this out yourself.

gm9 02-27-2008 02:59 PM

I will, but I probably won't have time today.

gm9 02-27-2008 03:04 PM

Btw, I just had a great idea (I think, lol) - while I don't like the text overlay, I do like the idea of a graphical overlay. You could use the DD to fade out a color overlay (a bit like we currently have) or just to flash a very visible notification once the value hits zero. You can probably normalize the fading by assigning the DD to a sliderbar with a capped maximum (not entirely sure it will even accept higher values but I think it does and just limits them) and forward them OnChange. Ah, I'll have to think about this, endless possibilities.

dragowulf 02-27-2008 03:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gm9 (Post 69985)
Btw, I just had a great idea (I think, lol) - while I don't like the text overlay, I do like the idea of a graphical overlay. You could use the DD to fade out a color overlay (a bit like we currently have) or just to flash a very visible notification once the value hits zero. You can probably normalize the fading by assigning the DD to a sliderbar with a capped maximum (not entirely sure it will even accept higher values but I think it does and just limits them) and forward them OnChange. Ah, I'll have to think about this, endless possibilities.

It would be kind of useless to have a flash come up when it hits zero, since we already have it.

gm9 02-27-2008 03:47 PM

True, but you can't really see that one, and also I'm thinking about putting this only on some buttons with very long cast times. Or maybe not. I'll think about it.

Kaldran 02-27-2008 04:01 PM

Actually for me the point of having reuse timers visible as text is to know when _exactly_ my spells will be up again to have my spell queueing optimized. Right now it is more like: your spell will be up .. well .. soon(tm) :P
I don't see a graphical overlay giving me more information than I have now.

dragowulf 02-27-2008 04:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kaldran (Post 69988)
Actually for me the point of having reuse timers visible as text is to know when _exactly_ my spells will be up again to have my spell queueing optimized. Right now it is more like: your spell will be up .. well .. soon(tm) :P
I don't see a graphical overlay giving me more information than I have now.

Quote:

Originally Posted by gm9 (Post 69987)
True, but you can't really see that one, and also I'm thinking about putting this only on some buttons with very long cast times. Or maybe not. I'll think about it.

Kaldran:
Yeah. I like the text so I know the exact min, sec, .sec, etc.

This would be very good because then you would know EXACTLY which spell is going to come next when you're doing your spell combos.

gm9:
I would be for it if it were more of a 1 colored progress overlay, kind of like the vertical one built in, but more visible and easier to see. I would like to have text on it as well because of the above reply to Kal

Dolby 02-27-2008 05:29 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I dont know how I'd like the numbers but something like this would be sexy imo...




:)

dragowulf 02-27-2008 05:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dolby (Post 69995)
I dont know how I'd like the numbers but something like this would be sexy imo...




:)

That's what I was talking about, but I wanted an option to be able to enable numbers for people that wanted them. Unfortunately the way the padding works that cant be done right now unless we can figure out a way to make it work.

lordebon 02-27-2008 05:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dolby (Post 69995)
I dont know how I'd like the numbers but something like this would be sexy imo...




:)

That was exactly what I was thinking, lol.

Only possibly have the color change according to time remaining... IE <5s the bar be red, 5<X<10 seconds it be orange, 10<X<30 it be yellow, 30<X<60 it be say yellow-green, 60<X<5m it be green, and then maybe 5m<X<15m it be blue, and >15m it be purple.

Or if thats a mite complex (it kinda is) perhaps scale it based on cur/max... <10% red, 10-25% orange, 25-50% yellow, 50%+ yellow-green.

gm9 02-27-2008 05:51 PM

Nice Dolby, that's what I had in mind, but yours looks more professional than my imagination. ;)

Dolby 02-27-2008 06:39 PM

Cant really help with the xml but any art assets you need I can create them as I have time. :)

Drumstix42 02-27-2008 06:50 PM

Now that is sexy.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.

vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© MMOUI